• +91-11-45329902
  • mail

Kundalini Yoga : Searching through Inward Journey

The sleeping divine feminine energy in human is known as the "Kundalini Shakti"

What is Kundalini Shakti ?


Kundalini Shakti (energy) is subtle manifestation of Cosmic Shakti. As per traditional yoga, there is divine cosmic energy or a huge reserve of spiritual energy situated at the base of the spine. This seed of divine feminine energy is known as the Kundalini Shakti. It can be awakened by Hatha Yoga, Raja Yoga, Jnana Yoga and Bhakti Yoga.

Kundalini means coiled up, and sometimes it is referred to as ‘serpent power.” Kundalini also means the mixture of primitive elements of nature. Kundalini Yoga focuses on the raising of life force. It treats of Kundalini Shakti, the seven centres of consciousness, the arousing of the hidden kundalini Shakti and its union with Lord Shiva at the top of the head. Kundalini is the Goddess of speech and is known by various names.

The Chakras (wheel) are subtle centres in the Sushuma Nadi and nucleus of Shakti as vital force. There are six vital chakras, namely, Muladhara, Svadhisthana, Manipura, Anahata, Vishuddha and Ajna. Sahasrara, the abode of Lord Shiva is the chief chakra.When Kundalini is aroused; it passes up the sushumna, a central passage in spinal column.

The seat of kundalini Shakti is Muladhara Chakra (the first chakra or base chakra) at the base of the spinal column. During awakening of Kundalini Shakti, this energy rises up sahasrara, the thousand-petaled lotus in the head and yoga practitioner feels united with self-illuminated soul. This is called perfect Samadhi.

  • Seed of divine feminine energy is Kundalini Shakti
  • Muladhara Chakra is seat of Kundalini Shakti
  • Kundalini passes from Muladhara to Sahasrara
  • It passes through seven centres of consciousness (7 Chakras)
  • As it changes form, it is known by new name

What is meaning of Kunda and Kundala ?

Kunda is a centre of the astral body from where yoga nadis and subtle channels spring and carry the vital energy (suksma prana). Just above the muladhara chakra, all the nadis of the body spring from this Kunda, the mystic fire of sleeping deity.

Kunda means bowl and here it refers to bowl of fire of consciousness resting in first chakra (muladhara chakra) at the base of the spinal column. All important nadis like Gandhari, Hastajihva, Kuhu, Sarasvati, Pusha, Sankhini etc have their origin in Kunda.

Muladhara Chakra lies just below the kunda where Ida, Pingala and Sushumna Nadis meet. Kundala means coiled, where sleeping Divine Shakti is resting and lies dormant in all beings.

  Prana, the first Energy


Breath is the external manifestation of Prana. The seat of prana is our heart. Control of prana means control of mind. Prana means first breath, symbolizing the life-force and primal flow of energy. The jivatma in the subtle body is container of five vital airs (pancha pranas).

Kundalini has connection with subtle prana which has further sub-connection with nadis and chakras. Chakras are centre of Prana Shakti.

Serpent power in the Muladhara is the power which is the backbone of the whole body and all its moving pranic forces. Prana flows in all things, big and small, describable or indescribable, as fire in gold. The breath also dissolves itself. When the mind become pure, prana is absorbed in the Sushumna, one becomes a true yogi.

  Prana flows in Nadis


Chakras are centres of Shakti as vital force and are connected through Nadis which distribute vital energy (prana) from the chakras throughout the body. Shakti is also known as mother of Prana, Agni, Bindu and Nada.

On one side of spine, there are various chakra and layers of mind, while, Ida, Pingala and other nadis are on other sides of spine. After Kundalini is awakened, Prana passes through Brahma Nadi along with mind and Agni.

  • Kunda is bowl of fire of consciousness resting in first chakra
  • Kundala means coiled, where sleeping Divine Shakti is resting
  • Kundalini has connection with subtle prana
  • Chakras are centres of Shakti as vital force
  • Prana passes through Brahma Nadi along with mind and Agni

  Seven Major Chakras


There are seven major chakras which gives the appearance of a lotus with Nadis as its petals. Each chakra has a particular number of petals symbolizing Sanskrit alphabet. These are :

  • Muladhara (origin of 4 yoga nadis)
  • Svadhishthana ( origin of 6 yoga nadis)
  • Manipura (origin of 10 yoga nadis)
  • Anahata (origin of 15 yoga nadis)
  • Vishuddha (origin of 16 yoga nadis)
  • Ajna (seat of mind)
  • Sahasrara (abode of Lord Shiva)

Kundalini Yoga in Rishikesh

Rishikesh remained a pious place for yogi, monks and hermits alike from time immemorial. The reasons of the popularity of the place are :

  • Divine nature of place ascend the path of Yoga cautiously
  • Yoga is a part of lifestyle in every nook and corner of Rishikesh
  • It’s a perfect place for Tantrik Sadhna to which Kundalini yoga belongs
  • Nearby surroundings itself unfolds the many secrets for awakening of Kundalini
  • The place is open for all throughout the year with calm and cool weather